BEATS ON. WORLD OFF. HELLO BEASTMODE.

Music. So much more than just sound; my motivation, my coach, my inspiration, my workout buddy. It’s like that pushy coach that no-one wants to work with, despite the fact that they know they’ll always get the best out of themselves with them around. This also happens when I’m listening to music, loud music, that is. Whilst scientific research has proven that classical music can help you to soak up more information and learn more efficiently, I doubt you’ll catch many people in the gym listening to Bach Cello Suite No.1 in C Minor. I predict that future research may suggest listening to something similar to Beyoncé Sweet Dreams is more likely to boost sports endurance and performance!

Over the past few months I’ve been searching around to find my favourite, most motivational tracks. The playlist I’ve created on Spotify is titled ‘Upbeat Fitness Tracks’ and, in my mind, it is just that. Any song I heard, whether it be on the radio or booming out of someone else’s speakers which I struggled to stop myself from dancing to ended up here. When I put my beats on I simply enter another world, a world of strength and passion. Sorry to get all deep on you just then, but I hope everyone relates to the moment when a sad song comes out from the radio, when you’re in the car, and you stare out of the window like you’re in a music video. Haha, just thought I’d bring it back down to reality!


Some of my favourite tracks*:

Raging – Kygo (ft. Kodaline)

Final Song – MO

The Ocean – Mike Perry (ft. Shy Martin)

Dare You – Hardwell (ft. Matthew Koma)

Tears – Clean Bandit (ft. Louisa Johnson)

How To Love – Cash Cash (ft. Sofia Reyes)

Runaway (U & I) – Galantis

Never Forget You – Zara Larsson, MNEK

This Is What You Came For – Calvin Harris (ft. Rihanna)

Don’t Let Me Down – The Chainsmokers (ft. Daya)


I have a very musical background; in the past I have learnt to play the violin, viola, cello, and piano, in addition to occasionally picking up the ukulele, guitar, bass and drums. I enjoy playing around with loops on Garageband, and am often found tapping on desks and using cutlery as drum sticks. I cannot ever imagine not being able to hear. I am so grateful that I can feel the power of music!

Often, one of the first things I do when I enter a room is play music. I have become a huge lover of our Sonos system, which lets you play pretty much whatever you want through an app on any device, which links to quality speakers. Some cannot focus and blame music as a distraction, especially when working, however I find it keeps me going at a rapid pace, in order to get on with my task – but seriously though, procrastination struggles! Not surprisingly, this crosses over to fitness. If you’ve ever been to a Zumba or aerobics class – or even a girls’ PE fitness lesson – you’ll totally relate! I think if my blogging career doesn’t work out, being a fitness instructor would be a cool job too!

Working out is something I do after a busy day to clear my head. I enjoy it! I mean, jamming (apologise the slight Dad-dancing term) to my favourite, motivational music whilst knowing that I’m doing my body a world of good. Sweating out the gunk, building my strongest, healthiest, happiest self. Taking out my time for me. Focusing on something other than le Passé Composé, trigonometry, or even the structure of the atom. Exams, stress, ‘friendship drama’, every little thing that comes with teenage life – gets chucked out the window! Just one more press up, a higher squat jump, sinking deeper into that lunge, and you’re amazing! Endorphins rush around, you’ve done it! Who wouldn’t want to feel that?

What I’m basically trying to say is to take the time to make a playlist which really ‘gets you going’, in doing so, every workout you do will never be the same again! Fitness should be enjoyable, as soon as it becomes a chore, ask yourself – “Why am I doing this?” – hopefully this should give you a fresh fire to keep sweating. I’ve linked some of my favourite songs in this post, to help grow your playlist.


*I do not own the copyright to any of these songs, I am simply recommending them as some of my favourite workout tracks!

3 Comments Add yours

  1. TeenRunner says:

    Hey, just been reading through all your posts and I LOVE them! Love your blog design too, having serious blog envie right now xxx

    Like

    1. LydsBerryPie says:

      Awh..thank you so much!! I’ve been a fan of your blog for a while now, your race successes definitely inspire me to improve with my running! Our teenage health and fitness blogging community is growing, maybe we could collab one day?! Haha, I’m often fiddling around with my blog layout and I’m never happy with it – glad to see you like it!xx 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

